April 20, 2022, Mississauga, ON – ….   The Ontario Junior Hockey League has named Mike Moir of the Burlington Cougars as the OJHL Volunteer of the Year for 2021-22, the league announced today.

Moir began volunteering with the Cougars in the late 1980s when his son, Andrew, was playing defence for the then Jr. B franchise. From team statistician, he graduated to board member and eventually served as president of the Cougars from 1990 to 2000.

“Thousands of hours and endless Friday nights have been donated by Mike and his appreciation for the game of hockey is still as strong as ever,” the Cougars said in their letter of nomination. “He assists the team in every aspect, from supporting all special events, assisting in the golf tournament, selling raffle tickets to the community and showing up for all home games for more than 40 years. ”

“In our opinion, there is not another volunteer that is as selfless and giving as this man. His face is one that will be met at every game where he sells the tickets, hands out the brochures and ends the third period in the stands watching the game.”

“Mike is always ready to lend a hand,” said Cougars Head Coach and General Manager Mark Jooris. “Whatever he can do to support the team, he does it.”

Moir is probably better known for his work around unfrozen water.

Moir was one of the founders of Burlington’s Mohawk Canoe Club in 1957 and helped it merge with the Oakville Canoe Club to become the Burloak Canoe Club in 1989.

An internationally accredited paddling official since the 1970s, Moir’s resume includes working six pre-Olympic and Olympic events, 15 world championships and three Pan-American Games. He was the official starter for the sprint canoe/kayak events at the London 2012 Summer Olympics.

His 65 years of volunteering to the community have not gone unnoticed. In 2013, Mike Moir was inducted into the Burlington Hall of Fame.

Moir and the other OJHL award recipients will be honoured during a ceremony before Game 1 of the OJHL Nutrafarms Championship Series in early May. The OJHL is announcing its 2021-22 award winners throughout the first three rounds of the playoffs.